top of page
  • rathleenationalsch

Biodiversity Workshop - The Water Cycle

The water cycle is powered by the sun's energy and by gravity. The sun kickstarts the whole cycle by heating all the Earth's water and making it evaporate. Gravity makes the moisture fall back to Earth.

There are five main stages in the water cycle. They are evaporation, condensation, transpiration, precipitation and collection.

We learned about each of these stages.

Evaporation: This is when warmth from the sun causes water from oceans, lakes, streams, ice and soils to rise into the air and turn into water vapour (gas). Water vapour droplets join together to make clouds.

Condensation: This is when water vapour in the air cools down and turns back into liquid water.

Precipitation: This is when water (in the form of rain, snow, hail or sleet) falls from clouds in the sky.

Transpiration is the process in which plants release the water inside it in the form of moisture or water vapor. Roots consume some amount of water from the soil and the rest evaporates in the atmosphere. Parts of plants such as stems, leaves, and flowers evaporate the water to the atmosphere.

Collection: This is when water that falls from the clouds as rain, snow, hail or sleet, collects in the oceans, rivers, lakes, streams. Most will infiltrate (soak into) the ground and will collect as underground water.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page